Yesterday I had my second salsa class. So far, I really like it.
I had been thinking about taking a dance class for awhile. One reason is because I’m in Latin America, not learning how to dance would just be rude! The other reason is that I’m NOT a shy person, but when it comes to dancing, I’m quite shy and it’s something I have wanted to overcome for a long time. Now that I am single, it’s winter and I’m bored, I finally have time to do it!
I actually have pretty good rhythm. I can do all the steps in time (finally, playing crappy guitar pays off!!!). And although I’m not a bull in a china closet, I’m not exactly feminine either. I have no idea what to do with my hands and I am almost certain it’s impossible for me to move my hips. In my mind, it’s like I’m trying to solve a math equation, when really, it’s something you have to FEEL. Strangely, it’s a lot like most sports I’ve done – skydiving, paragliding, rowing, whatever. The body innately knows what to do, but your brain takes over and tries to mathematize that shit, which never works. It’s only when you get so frustrated that you give up and relax and let your body take over and do its thing, that it starts to work. And after that, it’s simply a matter of repeating that thing until you don’t even have to think about it anymore.
The thing is… I LOVE learning. Unfortunately, I am always the kid who gets picked last for everything, but I’ve come to embrace it because there’s no better high than working my ass off and getting frustrated and then… finally getting it!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment